top of page

5 Reasons Why Jett Isn't So Bad

Meow! It's Charlie. In an effort to combine my first and second New Years resolutions, I decided to see if I can find reasons to not hate dogs. And I did! I know, I know - I've always said I hate dogs, and now I'm saying they aren't bad. Don't take this the wrong way: I still don't like dogs. I still don't like Jett. But MAYBE she isn't quite as bad as I thought. Maybe we're actually pretty similar.

Before we start, I would like to introduce Jett and myself.

This is Jett. A dog.

And this is me, Charlie. A cat.

I've been thinking, "Jett and I have to be alike in some way or another." So, after thinking for a (very) long time, I came up with a few similarities and reasons why maybe, just maybe, Jett isn't so bad after all.

1. We both love to be the center of attention.

Jett is a very bubbly and animated dog. She loves new people loves it even more when they pay attention to her. I'm more of a quiet cat. I don't particularly like new people, but if it's just one or two I want them to pay attention to me. If it's just me and Mom, I have to have her full attention or I'll leave.

2. We both occasionally pee indoors.

I, being the classy and sophisticated cat I am, always go in a designated box. Jett, however, when she does go indoors, does it in a random spot.

3. We both like to chase things.

Jett will chase anything that moves - toys, balls, chickens, goats, occasionally people, etc. Once again, being the classy cat that I am, will only chase strings and feathers (and the occasional moth or lizard).

4. We both love to go outside.

Outside; Fresh air, bugs, sunshine, trees, and lots of room to run around or nap. Who wouldn't love outside?

5. We both hate being groomed.

Hating water, cats have evolved to clean themselves. Dogs, being the dimwits they are, have not learned anything and continue to have to suffer being bathed.

What have we learned today? We learned that cats are way better than dogs (obviously) but that dogs aren't as different from cats as we once thought. We do share a few similarities. Overall, I'm glad that Jett is my sister - not because I had a change of heart and I suddenly like her (because I don't) but because she makes Mom happy.


Recent Posts
bottom of page