top of page

Tux

Meow! It's Charlie. This isn't going to be a typical post. This probably isn't going to be very funny. This post is very serious. It is about one of the other cats that Meowmy used to have, Tux. I haven't told you much about Tux because it is a very sad story, and I try to be happy and upbeat here. I did mention him in my Two Truths and a Lie post a while ago. I feel like you guys need to know. So here is his story.

Tux and Onyx were both adopted from a no-kill animal shelter, about two years ago. When they were adopted, Onyx was about a year to a year and a half and Tux was half a year to a year. He wasn't even full grown. Meowmy adopted them to be barn cats so they would catch and eat the gophers and mice. She had me about two years before this all happened. Let me tell you, I was NOT happy about two new cats.

After a while, they got used to living here. Onyx starting coming into the yard. One day, the door was open to let air in, and he walked right inside. (At night Onyx and Tux got locked into the Tack Room, which is where the feed and saddles are kept.) Well, Onyx saw the good life and he decided he wanted it. At night time he would climb up the wood wall in the Tack Room and through the chicken wire that was at the air holes at the top just to come up to the house. Meowmy would feel bad for him so she would let him in. After a while he became a house cat.

Fast forward a couple months, maybe a year. Keep in mind Tux was VERY shy. After all this time Tux finally decided to venture out from his home in the barn. He started slowly and soon came up toward the house. Meowmy would love on him and the two were very close. Of course Meowmy still loved me, but she loved another cat and I was jealous. I hated Tux.

One night, there was a lot of noise coming from outside. Upon further inspection, Tux was trying to get closer to the house and went into the dog yard. That was the biggest mistake of his unfortunately short life. The dogs chased him and played with him, but played to hard. He got internal damage and died. Meowmy wasn't sure what to do. She brought him inside and made him comfy with blankets (before he had died). The local vet wasn't open and the emergency vet was a very long way away. She wasn't sure he would make it. He didn't.

When I realized he was gone, I felt bad about being mean to him. Meowmy was super sad. This story is dedicated to you Tux, and hopefully you still have eight lives left and will forgive me.

Thanks for reading everybody. I hope I didn't make you depressed. Chow.


Recent Posts
bottom of page